

2023 MFDW Annual Convention-At-A-Glance

Convention Theme: **HERStory: 40 Years of Service**

DATE	START TIME	END TIME	FUNCTION
Friday, 11/10/23	Noon	5 PM	Pick Up Registration Packages
	1 PM	4 PM	I Plenary Session
	6 PM	8 PM	Reception
Saturday 11/11/23	7:30 AM	11:30 AM	Pick Up Registration Packages
	8 AM	9:45 AM	Breakfast & II Plenary Session
	10 AM	11:30 AM	Business Meeting
	1 PM	2:30 PM	40 th Anniversary Luncheon



Friday, November 10, 2023 | 1 p.m. – 4 p.m.

Musical Prelude

Call to Order/Gavel Presentation Past MFDW Presidents to Current President

Welcome Eddie Jean Carr

President, Hinds County/Host Club

Moment of Reflection & Meditation Teresa Roberts, Chaplain

Pledge of Allegiance Bobbie Betonti, Nominating Chair

Greetings Alice Geoghegan

President, Rankin County/Host Club

Recognition of Distinguished Guests Ruby Hays, President

Simpson County/Host Club

Seating of the Delegates Linda Floyd, President, Winston County

Convention Rules Dita McCarthy, Bylaws Chair

Adoption of Convention Agenda Lovie West, President

Roll Call of Clubs Shantay Walton, Financial Secretary

Credentialing of Club Delegates Eddie Jean Carr, Treasurer

Timekeeper Rachel Smith, Director, 3rd CD



Friday, November 10, 2023 | 1 p.m. – 4 p.m.

Plenary Session I

Music

Registration Report Anitra Eubanks, Asst. Financial Secretary

Adoption of Convention Minutes Alice Geoghegan, Recording Secretary

State of MFDW Lovie West, President

Topic I Attracting Young Federation Members

Topic II Breaking the Glass Ceiling: Facing our Fears

Topic III Protocol and Code of Conduct

Break – 15 Minutes

Music

Topic IV So you Want to Lead – Teresa Jones

Gamechanger Roundtable Deborah Williams, Ph.D., Chair, CD Directors

Closing Remarks Tabitha McRunnels, 1st Vice President

Adjournment



Friday, November 10, 2023 | 6 p.m. – 8 p.m.

2023 MFDW Reception

Friday, November 10, 2023

6 p.m.

Meet & Greet

Music

Welcome Dr. Corinne Anderson,

Former NFDW President

Inspirational Moment/Prayer Teresa Roberts, Chaplain

6:30 p.m.

Greetings Johnnie Patton,

Fundraiser Consultant

Pledge of Allegiance Shirley Johnson,

President, Humphreys County

National Anthem

The Occasion Rachel Smith, 3rd CD Director

Recognition of VIP Guests Kay Sims, 4th CD Director

Recognition of Elected Officers Bernice Jackson,

1st CD Vice President



Friday, November 10, 2023 | 6 p.m. – 8 p.m.

2023 MFDW Reception Agenda Continued

Introduction of Candidates Tanya Gray. 4th CD Vice President

Introduction of Speaker Shawn Jackson,

President, Warren County

Speaker

Announcements Hortense Patton,

President, Forrest Lamar County

Closing Prayer Barbara Finn,

President, DeSoto-Marshall County



Convention Agenda

Saturday, November 11, 2023 | 8 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.

Registration (7:30 a.m.)

Plenary Session II Business Meeting

Call to Order (8 a.m.)

Pledge of Allegiance Cathy McNair, President, Forrest-Lamar County

Greetings Alexia Conway, NFDW History Committee

Roll Call of Clubs Shantay Walton, Financial Secretary

Credentialing of Club Delegates Eddie Jean Carr, Treasurer

Breakfast Speaker TBD

Awards (Quarterly Challenges) Ollie Hoover, Awards Chair

Officers Reports

President's Report Lovie West

1st Vice President's Report Tabitha McRunnels

2nd Vice President's Report Janice Skiffer

Financial Secretary's Report Shantay Walton

Treasurer's Report Eddie Jean Carr

• 2024 Budget Treasurer



Convention Agenda Continued Saturday, November 11, 2023 | 8:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.

Committee Reports

Audit Report Marsha Pimperl, Audit Chair

CD Vice Presidents' Report Ollie Hoover, CD Vice Presidents Chair

CD Directors' Report Deborah Williams, Ph.D, CD Directors Chair

Ways & Means Gloria Carpenter, Ways & Means Chair

Legislative/Women in Blue Felicia Brown Williams, Legislative Chair

Tanya Gray, WIB Chair

Political Committee

Resolutions Janice Skiffer, Resolutions Chair

Bylaws Dita McCarthy, Bylaws Chair

Policies & Procedures Janice Skiffer, 2nd Vice President

History

Awards (others) Ollie Hoover, Awards Chair

Nomination/Election Committee Bobbie Betonti, Nominating Chair

Election of Officers

Unfinished Business

New Business

- 2024 Convention Date
- 2024 Convention Host

Adjournment

Saturday, November 11, 2023 | 1 p.m.

40th Anniversary Luncheon

Jazz Music/MFDW Historical Video Michael Chandler, Technology Consultant

Dias Entrance Mistress of Ceremony

Welcome Jodie Brown, Vice Chair, MS Democratic Party

Pledge of Allegiance Ruthie Thaggard-White, President, Harrison

County

National Anthem

The Occasion Johnnie Patton, Fundraiser Consultant

Greetings Cheikh Taylor, Chair, MS Democratic Party

Invocation (Blessing of the food) Hortense Patton, President, Hancock County

Lunch

MS Federation of Democratic Women, Dr. Corinne Anderson, MFDW Founding

Member

Past, Present & Future Lovie West, President

Fallen Sheroes Ceremony Amanda Dear-Jones, President, Coahoma

County

Introduction of Speaker Jackie Exum, President, Lowndes County

Speaker

Awards Dr. Peggy Rogers, President, Oktibbeha County

Installation of New Officers Felicia Brown-Williams, Past President

Passing of the Gavel Lovie West, Immediate Past President

Announcements Deborah Williams, Ph.D., CD Directors' Chair

Convention Adjournment President, MFDW